Book Review: The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

These books mean a lot to me. I read these in middle and high school, and I think they have a lot to offer to younger, and even older people.

These books do a really good job of making even the most different of people feel special. It has a really unique way of creating heroes with ‘disabilities’, all of the demigods in this series suffer from dyslexia and ADHD. I think this is an awesome thing that Riordan has incorporated into his books. It’s helpful for kids who suffer from these disabilities and it also creates a connection for kids without the disabilities, they can relate and understand people who struggle with these things.

I also think these books are good in general for any middle grade kids because it does a good job of showing the different struggles kids go through and how they can cope with it. In these books no one is perfect, all of the kids have some sort of struggle, most of them have dead a beat parent(s), a few have abusive parents/step parents, and some have no parents. These books are a good crutch for kids to lean on if they have some sort of struggle going on.

On a different note, these books are amazingly fun! Astounding adventure, freaky prophecies, and tons of mythology. It’s like the funnest way to learn about ancient history. Plus it has beautiful messages hidden inside of it.

Like the main character Percy most kids need to learn the same lessons about themselves as he does. It’s best said like this,“If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it myself.”

I recommend these books mostly to middle graders, but I think anyone can enjoy these books!

14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv

5/5 I love these books and I think they should be required reading in school!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan

  1. An author I need to look into! When I was a teacher, I remember inputting questions on his books into our Accelerated Reader program (which was no longer supported by our test-crazy school) at student request. Even the questions were interesting. Do you have a recommendation as to which book to read first?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

