Book Review: The Adventures of Tom Bombadil

Stark and Bombadil

Poetry every Tolkienite will love! That’s my immediate thought on this beautiful little book, it is truly amazing. When they say big things come in small packages, they are serious!

I love everything Tolkien, and this is a great addition to my now very large collection. I practically have a whole shelf dedicated to J.R.R. Tolkien. He’s an amazing story teller and he’s also a very accomplished poet, and this little book shows the world his talent. I will keep this book and likely read it to my children, when I decide to have some. Yikes!

It’s very whimsical and has a lot of great information about the shire and multiple different places and time periods. While it’s not entirely focused on the mysterious Tom Bombadil, it contains three poems specifically about him and they’re all beautiful and magical. My favorites, because I couldn’t pick just one, are The Adventures of Tom Bombadil and Oliphaunts as told by Samwise Gamgee. I love them because they have a sense of wonder and they put me inside the poem, I love everything about them. A close runner up is The Stone Troll because it has a sense of silliness alongside the adventure, and it also features Tom Bombadil.

I snagged a description of the book from Amazon, here it is:

*****

This adventure book tells of Tom’s encounters with the River-woman’s beautiful daughter, Old Man Willow, the Badger-folk, the ghostly Barrowwight, a lovely princess, trolls, dwarves, and legendary beasts. A delightful volume of 16 songs, rhymes and poems from the acclaimed The Hobbit. Illustrated.

*****

Not the most amazing description by Amazon, but you get the point. It’s a bunch of beautiful stories about Middle Earth! The edition I got is out of print now, which I find kind of sad, and it gave me a sense of urgency to buy this book before they were all gone. It was an impulse buy and I love it!

It has a beautiful introduction and a summary/thoughts after the poems. I read the intro and poems, I started on the summary/thoughts but got really excited and needed to write this review! Another notable things is that I don’t particularly enjoy poetry a whole bunch, but this book had me very interested! I think even poetry avoiders like myself will also love it!

I recommend this to people of all ages and walks of life, I think it would be a really good book for parents to read to children, that’s what I would like to do with it one day. Poetry at its finest!

14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv

5/5 Amazing little book of poetry, fun for all ages. Pick it up and give it a try.

Leave a Reply

