Book Review: Pieces – Toni Aleo

pieces cover.png

This book is an excellent example of a dark romance! I absolutely adored this book and couldn’t put it down! Toni Aleo has crafted what I think is a masterpiece. This book is thrilling and sexy and I love it!

Before I jump into my review too much here’s the description from NetGalley:

*****

In New York City, an underground society of supernatural beings exists, hidden among everyday humans. They don’t know of our activities or any of our secrets.

The districts of the Works are made up of vampires, wolves, shifters, witches, and I’m in the fifth and arguably most important district, the Patchwork. My father is the leader of our group, and he oversees all of the other factions.

As his only daughter, that makes me the princess of it all. Cool, right? Actually…no.
Sure, I live in a mansion and money isn’t an object, but that doesn’t matter because I can’t leave. I have a guard who follows me around 24/7. My father and three older brothers treat me like I’m a fragile piece of glass, never allowed to take an independent step or make any decisions on my own.
It’s beyond frustrating—especially since my father essentially runs my life.
He says what I do, when I do it, how I do it, and all that jazz. He tests his formulas and new techniques on me. I’m a walking science experiment.
I hate it.
I hate my life here.

But then he comes along: Killian.
He’s just some vampire…or so I thought.

But you’ll have to read my story to find out what I mean. To know my secrets.
Until then, though, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Rebecca von Stein.
And I’m a descendant of Dr. Frankenstein.

Welcome to the Works.

*****

When I say this book is sexy I mean it, I think this description of Rebekah’s love interest explains it. “I can’t look away. He is so easy to stare at. And those smiles? They are like a hit of the finest drug out there, honestly.” That is just in the beginning too, it slowly increases as the book progresses. You will fall in love with the male lead, he is what I’d call dreamy…

Another thing I love about this book is how strong Rebekah is, she is the best kind of female lead, one I can admire! This part of the book explains her best, “I bet you fight tooth and nail, wanting your freedom. I bet everyone in that house cringes the moment you step into the room or open your mouth because the fight is coming.”And she does fight tooth and nail, all throughout the book. She fights people that everyone else in her community would be afraid to even look in the eye. Rebekah is wonderful!

Something to be aware of is that this book has seriously mature themes, when I read the description I thought it would be your typical teen supernatural read, it’s not. With a line like, “You have no clue what it’s like to sink your teeth into a guy who is tripping off molly.” it’s guaranteed to surprise even the most vulgar of person.

I recommend this book to older teens and young adults, you’ll love it if you’re into paranormal romance! If you enjoy this you’ll enjoy the House of Night series for sure!

This book will make you swoon, cringe, and laugh all at the same time, trust me! It released June 27th 2016.

14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv

5/5 on my book rating because it really is an awesome book. I think it’s worth a lot more hype than it’s receiving!

Buy this book and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

