Book Review:Bound By Birthright – Janeal Falorl

Bound by birthright

This book intrigued me because of the fantasy aspect, I absolutely love elves! This promised Elves, Pirates, and Romance! I obviously had to read this! So I went ahead and got the approval from NetGalley and started reading.

Just so you can understand my intrigue here is the book description from NetGalley:

*****

Elven princess Arabella is set to marry the human Prince Phillip but her countrymen do not hesitate to express their anger with her parents’ attempt to improve relations with the humans. With death threats plaguing her, Arabella is forced into hiding.

When her sanctuary is usurped by pirates, Arabella goes on the run with humans who vow to help and keep her safe. She finds herself drawn to one of the humans, the dashing Robert, who steals her heart.

Arabella would like nothing more than time to get to know Robert better, but with pirates attacking and her wedding date approaching, time is one thing she doesn’t have. Arabella’s on a flight for her life and must reconcile with the truth—she can never be with the one she wants.

If only her heart would agree.

*****

Sounds promising right? Wrong, this book just lacked the excitement I was really hoping for. You’d think with elves and pirates it would be chock-full of adventure and action! It focused a lot on a whiny princess and her love for a man she couldn’t have. I have said a few times before that I hate WHINY character and trust me she’s whiny. Princess Arabella does get a little better throughout the book but not a whole lot, plus the romance is lacking the sizzle that most romances promise. I didn’t feel the connections of the characters, and I couldn’t give a damn what happened to Robert.

The whole first three quarters of this book were slow and utterly boring to me, I pushed through because I kept expecting it to improve, which it kind of did. The last quarter things picked up and I actually wanted to read it, but all the twists and turns were pretty predictable. The only thing I found truly interesting and made me want to read the next one (Yes there’s a next one…) was the ending, it had a pretty good cliffhanger. I’m not sure I’ll ever get around to reading it though.

Do I recommend it? No. It’s too bland and predictable.

14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv14337-illustration-of-an-open-book-pv

2/5 on my book rating because of how boring it was.

If you have read this book, or choose to. Let me know what you think, because you might have a better perspective on it that I’d love to hear! It released June 6th 2016!

Leave a Reply

